Poets logo

Connected Through Time

A love that never dies

By Dawn SaloisPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
23
Connected Through Time
Photo by Jack Taylor on Unsplash

As long as I live I’ll never forget the first time I met you

To call it love at first sight would diminish what it became

When I first saw you I knew something was different

I liked the way you looked,

But that wasn’t what sent a ripple through my universe

The moment our eyes met I felt something new

My soul recognized you even though my eyes had never seen you

The memories of eons together echoed in my heart

There was something I couldn’t describe with words

That I experienced in your presence

We could talk and laugh for hours

We were surrounded by other people,

But it felt like we were in an isolated pocket of swirling energy.

We never purposefully touched each other,

But when we did touch I felt

a shockwave of electricity travel through me.

I’ve never felt as seen or respected as I did in your presence

You admired my strengths

As I did yours

There was no struggle for power between us

Only mutual admiration

I was happy and proud when you had an achievement

And you celebrated my wins in the same way

The poisonous infection of jealousy never spread

You saw who I truly was

And I let you

You let me see you too.

We came from two different worlds,

But we embraced our differences without judgment

We didn’t agree on everything

But our disagreements

Never severed the connection we had

I wish I could say that our love story had a happy ending

The saddest thing is that it never actually started

There were so many opportunities to tell you how I felt

Or at least maintain eye contact when we had a “moment”

I’ll never forget the sunny afternoon we found each other

And stood talking on a patch of grass in the middle of a street

Or all the times we shared a meal together

We spent a lot of time together for people who were not “together”

My favorite memory is the night we stood together talking

Under the light of the full moon

We talked about so many different things that night

We talked about things we had read

We asked each other questions

And talked about our lives

It felt like we were the only people on earth

Until I got a phone call and had to rush home

I haven’t seen you in this reality in several years

But I still see you in other realms when I sleep at night

I sometimes wonder if you ever think about me

Or see me when you dream

I wish we had fought so I never wanted to see you again

But I do, and I will

I don’t know if I will see you again in this life

But I know we always have been, and always will be, two halves of a soul

love poems
23

About the Creator

Dawn Salois

Mother of a wonderful son. Writing is a relatively new passion of mine. I love to create my own images. Self-published author of Shadow and Flame.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    This is a Beautiful poem of an unrealized romance. I feel you releasing your hearts pure love into the universe. I hope it returns to you many fold. 🥰

  • This one is filled with depth and heart and soul. Beautifully written.

  • Wow. A lot of memories came flooding back. This line hit me so hard 'We spent a lot of time together for people who were not “together”. This poem was so relatable to me word to word from beginning to the end. I loved it so much!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Amazing! Loved this one :)

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Beautiful, I hope you see this person again. That kind of meeting is once in a lifetime. 🥰

  • A beautiful poem, I love it

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful!!!👏💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.