Poets logo

Conflict

Poem from 2009

By G.M. KidderPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
The tree I was looking at while writing this.

I know the demon's kiss

and a demon such as this

brings many sorrows as I recall

The stories and the lies

nothing exists behind the eyes

when the soul isn't there at all

I knew him very well

The demon with an angel shell

and accepted every flaw

When i became more than me

The demon he did flee

With contempt for what he saw

Angry and alone

he sat upon his throne

wondering if he should change

He began to see the wrong

that had plagued his choices so long

His form began to rearrange

But his matron witch did see

metamorphosis begin in he

this she could not suffer

To keep her demon damned

She evoked diamonds from the sand

Spell cast by this demon's mother

She showered him with gifts

For evil acts and tricks

No thank you needed from him

Illusion for happiness you see

No love she had for he

Just control, malice and sin

The witch could only survive

By ruining children's lives

And turning them into demons

She tried but could not fool me

To give control of my angel baby

To her and her false angel son

She took the demon home

Jewel decorated his throne

In order to keep him in her wake

This witch said to me

"My demon will never be

The angel you tried to make"

When I knew this to true

I told my demon "let us save you"

He angered at the truth

He coward in fear

His matron witch near

To save him from love and youth

The witch looked at me

And laughed with evil glee

Knowing she had been victorious

Her calculated win

Left the demon hollow and thin

Where once stood something glorious

My angel baby was safe

But attempts she did make

To try and seize him from me

She offered diamonds of enormous size

But I saw the glassy lie

My angel baby stays with me

She called upon her broken demon

To wear an angel shell again

And bring the angel baby to her cave

"He will be the greatest demon yet!"

She cried, without regret

While fondly she recalled all the souls unsaved

That angel-masked demon came to us

Preaching love and using lust

To try and cloud my reason

But I knew all the while

His intentions were truly vile

A plan of vicious treason

Deception his only tool

He walked away a fool

Once the angel baby shined his light

What was hidden has been seen

Not always a pleasing scene

But revelation none the less

That witch's anger grew

With her demons failure to

Gain access to the child in question

She knew she could not try

Her spells on the innocent's eye

Defeat fueled her obsession

The witch threatened me with pain

In my arms the angel baby did remain

And the witches demon son on a rope

His soul is entrusted to me

This special angel baby

With his presence he brings hope

But demons and witches are afraid

That hope can change their ways

Of manipulation, narcissism and greed

If the angel baby beings to share

And others become aware

The witch's gifts satisfy only her evil need

To make more demon slaves to be

An army of ignorance and misery

With no regret for the souls she's burned

Clutching my angel baby tight

We are safe inside the light

And our minds remained unturned

That witch she packed her cave

Took her demon slaves

And accepted her defeat

We smiled and danced hex free

My angel baby and me

With the smell of triumph making the air sweet.

I know the demon will always try

To be in his mother’s eye

By doing the evil he was taught

And on occasion bother me

With lies and trickery

So transparent they come to not.

Given the choice of good or bad

Some cower and choose the fad

For instant gratification

With the choice to abandon grace

You cannot hide your demon face

And are damned to a life of indignation

Now this fable does not preach

Of religious belief

Just of bad choices made by some

When they choose themselves above

Their child's health, happiness and love

The damage cannot be undone.

These selfish people are made

By parents who persuade

Self-indulgence, ego and ignorance

These evil parents too

Have taken the easy way through

With others feelings of no consequence

And as a mother now

I cannot allow

My angel baby to become

Vapid, arrogant and cruel

By the dishonest hands of these fools

So their chances are left to none

I keep my son aware

Other people aren't just there

As a means to an end

That all living things are entitled

To respect, and it is vital

That good intention we always emit

It may not make him wealthy

But his soul will remain healthy

With love, honesty and valor in it.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

G.M. Kidder

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    G.M. KidderWritten by G.M. Kidder

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.