Poets logo

confined

(in myself)

By Sara Published 7 months ago 1 min read
8

maybe

if i am small

enough

i can slip

through the bars

of my mind

to a place

where darkness

does not reside.

if i disappear

through the cracks

and leave the body

i never wanted

cold,

on the floor

for rodents

to feast on

maybe i will know

peace.

i did not ask for this.

iron bars

my fingers claw on

until they bleed

empty flesh

that begs for sustenance

so needy -

always wanting.

where do i leave

the knees

that ache from

running

from myself

and the heart

that beats

too loud?

in the dead of the

night

will the voices

hear

when i go?

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    This is exceptional. So sad, but I love the clever use of italics to highlight certain lines as if coming from a different place (that's how I read it...maybe I am wrong) I have at times wished I could leave my body behind, but also want to escape my mind.. Great and impactful work as ever, Sara!

  • Adam 7 months ago

    so powerful!

  • I did not ask for this. That line resonated do deeply with me. Loved your poem!

  • Brenton F7 months ago

    So real and hauntingly familiar and very well written! I went to a surrealist art exhibition years ago and some of the painting looked like they had been ripped straight out of my head, a lot of your work has that same vibe - it's a good thing!

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    This is so raw and heartfelt. Great read!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.