Poets logo

home

(where?)

By Sara Published 8 months ago 1 min read
10
home
Photo by Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

my tears

have formed

a river

i can cross

to find a place

i call

home

but i am a girl

with a teddy bear

on the street

at nightfall

looking into all the

windows

on my tip toes.

i barely feel

the cold anymore

but i shiver

every night

on the park bench

and my lips turn blue.

maybe i do not belong

here

in the world of smiles

and neat little houses

with billowing chimneys of smoke

because all i have ever known

are doors

slammed shut

sidewalk stoops

and the sound of footsteps

walking away.

home is not here

but somewhere in the sky

that my hand is too short

to reach.

heartbreaksurreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Going back and looking at some of your recent stuff, because I know I'm behind. I remembering reading this a while ago and not liking or commenting, my bad. This reminds me of The Little Match Girl a little. So sad, and heartbreaking, but as always, beautifully expressed!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Oh 😢 this was too too sad

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Heartbreaking but a captivating read

  • Home is not here but somewhere in ghe sky. That was my favourite line. Loved your poem so much!

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    My favorite poem of yours so far! 🩷 I usually hate metaphors, and I find a lot of poetry insufferable. It seems like someone wanting to show off and write something “good” instead of writing something true. But it’s never that way with your work. You use symbolism in a way I can feel, and it is brutally honest.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Oh my. That is sad, but incredibly beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.