Poets logo

Confessions

And Lies

By Poppy Published about a year ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
7
Confessions
Photo by Fiona Murray on Unsplash

What if I pressed a confession against your skin like I used to apply the band aids? What if I told you something not even my poems know? What if I told you I still wish for your happiness like I used to wish for you? What if I told you that despite the way you caused wounds in my flesh time after time, I’d still stitch yours together if you’d only come close enough to let me?

I know that you are empty. I know because I tried to take the things you didn’t have to give. I tried to take love and you couldn’t even pump enough of it for yourself. I tried to take answers, but you didn’t have any words to form them with. (I’m sorry doesn’t count.)

I know that you pushed me over an edge you never planned to follow me over, I know that you stood and watched as my bones broke on the impact. I know that you used my blood to fake your own injuries for the next girl to wrap up in bandages. I know that she did just that, without any regard for me. I know that you practically praised her for it. I know that forgiveness is within reach. I know that I am not ready to grasp it yet. I know I will be soon.

What if I told you my love was like a blanket and instead of using it to keep you warm, you threw it to the ocean’s arms and let it sink beneath the waves? What if I told you the sea level is only still rising around you because dragging others beneath the surface is not the same as learning to swim? What if I told you that I knew your flaws like I know the lines from my favourite song? What if I told you the only emotion I have left to give you is pity and I have enough to drown you in it?

What if my real confession is that you finally taught me how to lie and I lied when I said I wished for your happiness? What if I told you that even though misery loves company, the company doesn’t love him back for long?

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed these prose, check out some more like it:

fact or fictionheartbreaklove poemssad poetry
7

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Wow Poppy, this was kind of mind-blowing, raw and soul wrenching! I loved it and my heart ached for the narrator in this one! (I try not to assume work is from your- the author's- perspective) Beautifully written and so well articulated! Great work!

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Ohhh, wow, Poppy. This one is my new favorite. Holy crap. "I know that you pushed me over an edge you never planned to follow me over, I know that you stood and watched as my bones broke on the impact. I know that you used my blood to fake your own injuries for the next girl to wrap up in bandages." That is pure genius and made my insides absolutely crumble. 🤯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.