Poets logo

Concrete Concept

Finding Home

By Siobhan M Johnson Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The road home

On the drive back to my house, I wondered

if I was going home or somewhere else;

We had this conversation yesterday,

my mother and I, talking about home;

how grandma and grandpa always found it

easier to consider home someplace

else – somewhere other than here, where we are.

Nothing concrete, no brick and mortar or

wood-slat structure: roof, four-walls, and a floor.

Home as a concept, a memory held

in the heart, where your loved ones keep living.

In this way, they never had to leave it.

Perhaps poverty, hard times, drove them here

to this idea of holding home close,

near enough to touch, feel, not close enough

to fear losing – always within, with us.

And I knew, wherever I was going,

I would be home.

~ Siobhan, 9/21/2021

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Siobhan M Johnson

Poet and writer of Women's Fiction. I've been writing for years - longer than this life it feels.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.