Poets logo

Conclusive.

Put an end to it.

By Trai R. HawthornePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

“Sadness”. Coming from an inner disappointment. Wanting to make you proud of what I have done, what I have become, my potential. But the only thing that really made you happy is the things that didn't give me passion. Aliveness. I made you this, made you that. It didn't seem to be enough. Or I didn't get the excited joyful reaction that I longed for. The same energy I put into it, I wanted it back in the same reactions. I wanted you to know I could shine by myself. You were impressed and I was disappointed. I threw away those ideals and gained the ones that would perhaps make you see how much potential I had. Even that wasn't enough. I eventu-ally gave up and was stuck on doing what I had to do and not what I wanted to do. All just to impress you. I'd make you a drawing, I'd make you food, I'd show you what I learned and how smart I was on my own but my idea never matched your satisfaction. I believed in myself so much and wanted you to know it and love the fact that I believed. I wanted you to receive my manifestation of love and awh. And not shame it for something "nice", "good job", "no I don't want any right now", "I'm sure it's nice", or "I’m proud of you". I never felt your satisfaction. It was so dry and that's all I wanted. I love creating and wanted you to love what I created. When the reactions never met the effort put into it I became sad. I wanted to impress you, I wanted your approval. I wanted you to be as happy for me as "they" make it seem anywhere else. Your opinion mattered more than anything, you were a reflection. You were the creator, you were my God, and I wanted god to see what I could do. God didn't show interest in my projects, points of view, didn't care how it was made. I started doing what you were doing, and you weren't impressed unless it was exactly like yours - word for word, spell for spell, measure for measure. I began to hate you for going against my views, my wishes, and throwing them away because of my age, and gender. Growing and coming about I realized you never believed in me or had faith in me. You thought I would fail or fuck up more than being successful and profitable. Icing a joyous life. I always knew it. I know that being sad came from not living to your expectations. My only savior is now knowing I don't need to live up to your views and expected experience. I just need to do me for the sake of doing me. I'm always safe and happy when I realize that. I will release that blockage of being sad and turn it to confidential power. I know I got it, never went far.

“My abilities were in the distance, far away as a friend. But as big as the sun. Though at a distance big enough for the world; a nourishment that would never end".

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Trai R. Hawthorne

Welcome I’m Trai!

Content ranging from poetry; to short-stories, current thoughts, etc. Click around & browse! I like to write for the creative thrill & expression! I'm on the verge of something!

🥀·💀·🎭·⚜️·🎨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.