Poets logo

compulsions/convulsions

colour is pride challenge

By Zainab BariPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

the aroma of bubbling berries wafts through the kitchen,

and soon lips are stained a deep mulberry wine,

and I smile,

easing smarting hands from oven mitts beneath the table,

knuckles chafed red and raw,

because pastry that burrows under nails

is an unwelcome guest at this table.

I can taste salt in the air,

and see the foam-white crests of waves breaking on the beach:

golden sand strewn with seashells dipped in sunset,

kissed by glittering turquoise waters, as they ebb and flow.

I would gladly drown myself in those endless depths,

just to escape the scrape of sand against my skin.

I had heard that the woods were

peaceful.

a world full of birdsong and babbling brooks,

that blossomed beneath an emerald canopy,

where we could toast marshmallows over a campfire,

till they became clouds with singed edges

that could be torn apart by sticky fingers.

If I doused myself in those merrily crackling flames,

would I finally be free?

of the dirt that clings so closely to me?

The hollows of my eyes have grown bruise-blue.

The skin of my arms is cracked and grey

(and crimson where it splits).

soap turned into an enemy, from the friend I once knew,

its iridescent bubbles are corrosive now too.

if I could I would turn back the clocks:

To a girl who coaxed a ladybug onto her toddler fingers,

and marvelled at its shiny black spots.

To a girl who ran laughing through the sprinklers,

chasing after rainbows under an unforgiving sun.

To a girl who had yet to spend her life,

scrubbing away the remnants of her potential.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.