Poets logo

Compliments

A Twisted Lure

By ManhaPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
Like
Compliments
Photo by Majestic Lukas on Unsplash

Whispered words, a venomous bite,

Masking contempt behind feigned delight.

Saccharine smiles that cut like a knife,

Dissecting my soul, stealing my life.

I dread the gaze that bores into my skin,

Exposing my flaws, my imperfections within.

A backhanded charm, a poisoned caress -

Your compliments scald, leave me in distress.

Is this true praise or a sarcastic ploy?

I cannot discern, my senses deploy.

Clutching my guard, wary of your intent,

Your words feel like traps, my spirit they vent.

Behind gilded tongues, barbs are concealed,

Leaving scars that can never be healed.

I long for honest words, devoid of deceit -

But your false kindness, it makes my heart beat.

In this twisted dance of feigned adoration,

I'm left clutching shards of self-preservation.

Your compliments haunt, a terrifying sight -

Casting shadows that obscure my fragile light

Mental Health
Like

About the Creator

Manha

Weaving tales that linger and crafting verses that sing, I'm a creative writer and poet from the south of Asia. Let's wander together - a captivating read awaits

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Bew14 days ago

    Amazing congratulations, can you read mine also?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.