Poets logo

Community

A home inside of me

By Kat Sung (they/them)Published 3 years ago β€’ Updated 3 years ago β€’ 1 min read
13
Community
Photo by Prateek Gautam on Unsplash

Forever a foreign born adoptee,

Surrounded by fields in heartland country.

This hyphenated sort of identity,

Never afforded me a place where I felt I was meant to be.

Like the cornstalks from my immaturity,

I peeled back the layers of other outcasts like me.

There amidst the poor life situation debris,

I found my sense of community.

Developing complete understanding and empathy,

Led me down paths I could never foresee.

There they could syphon my energy,

Leaving only a mere shell of who I ought to be.

I spent so long snuffing out internal fires burning.

My growing pains taught me,

That only living for others was not how I was meant to be.

While Iowa will always be a part of my destiny,

My true home is the hearth of my being.

There I nurtured a sense of clarity.

My center, my balancing,

A safe place for resting and recharging.

And from that foundation I dared creating,

A new sense of identity.

I redefined my duty,

From sacrifice to responsibility.

I emerged to not only look after others unselfishly,

But also to look deep within,

To find my sense of community.

****

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem entered into the Homecoming Challenge. Please heart, tip, and share as you feel called πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’›

inspirational
13

About the Creator

Kat Sung (they/them)

The human experience through my personal lens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.