Poets logo

Comforts of Life

The Security of Time

By Esther Julianne McDanielPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Comforts of Life
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I was scared of the dark, so I cried.

I grabbed my blankey and sucked my thumb

‘till after the tears subsided.

The next night I feared the dark

of all the things mature people hide

from their children and parents.

But not my dad, he took advantage,

and my blankey and thumb kept me safe

as their friend until I turned eleven.

Then there was Froggie, stuffed on my bed

available for squeezing and comfort

from my step-dad.

My children, soft and sweet,

hugged tight like Froggie in the night,

kept me sane and a reason to live when I wanted to die.

I never regretted bringing them into this world,

though I regretted the relationships

that brought them here.

And then there was Mitch

who brought smiles to my soul.

When his heart failed, he left me alone in this world.

Life lives again,

my children are grown.

Grandkids bring smiles and hugs of their own.

Now Mr. Fine is here,

with a smile of his own.

We talk of the past and the lessons we’ve learned.

The future is bright

with him by my side.

The pain of the past is no longer my guide.

The comfort he brings,

the giggles, the smiles,

are here for a while to walk the long mile.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Esther Julianne McDaniel

After my car accident, writing became a way to relearn language. Since then, writing has become a way of life. You can read about my journey back to health in my book When Memories Leave. https://www.facebook.com/EstherMcDanielAuthor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.