Poets logo

Comfortable

What is it that comforts me through the grim and the bleak?

By A. L. SimpkinsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Comfortable
Photo by Matilda Kosok on Unsplash

What is it that comforts me

Through the grim and the bleak?

I’ll tell you the answer,

Though you may find it weak:

Days without clouds

That leave my brittle bones be

Arthritis untouched

When I’m lucky, for weeks;

The whooshing and whirring

While machines clean our sheets

Or wash faded white dishes

Of scraps of food it meets;

The car coming to a halt

At the end of our street

Up the tree-lined drive

Without so much as a peep;

A fridge stuffed so full

Old, rickety, and meek,

That when I shut its doors

The rusty hinges creak.

Ask me again,

What’s the difference

Between comfort, security, relief?

I’ll simply shrug

And then go back to sleep.

social commentaryvintagesad poetry
2

About the Creator

A. L. Simpkins

Reader, writer, and lover of all things literary.

You can find my work featured in episodes of Full Body Chills Podcast and the NoSleep Podcast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.