Poets logo

Comfort in a Crowd

anxiety and awe

By Jenna SediPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Comfort in a Crowd
Photo by Erfan Moradi on Unsplash

Wiggling fingers

entice me

to grab hold and

forget

.

Blurry chaos without my glasses

enveloping us

chatter, shuffling, transactions

.

forget

.

Skewed glances that judge with ice

I feel trapped by others' gaze

often

.

Those fingers

behind her back

wiggling worms with red painted heads

ringed with silver and skulls

make me forget

.

I reach, trying to catch on to her

as we surge forward together

mowing through the waving weeds

beneath the burning luminance

a humming roar of crowded speech

.

I've connected,

thin fingers wrap around my chubby pointer and middle

just like how I hold onto my dad's larger hands

she looks back, a wash of curls preamble her quirky smile

tighter

.

I forget everything else

a unit now, no longer anxious

a safety rope drawn between our bodies

She leads me on.

Through the market of factory farmed customers.

She leads the way.

I focus on her hair in awe,

loose wound ringlets of umber and carmine and auburn

That glaring florescence makes it shimmer

.

I smile,

and wish I could hold her hand all the time.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jenna Sedi

What I lack in serotonin I more than make up for in self-deprecating humor.

Zoo designer who's eyeballs need a hobby unrelated to computer work... so she writes on her laptop.

Passionate about conservation and sustainability.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mhairi Campbell 2 years ago

    Amazing imagery and use of language, well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.