Poets logo

Complementary

Orange and Blue

By Jenna SediPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Complementary
Photo by Taylor Wright on Unsplash

I dream of a life

Small

Yet meaningful in many little ways

.

The licks of rescued pets

The joys of your loud laughs

The eyes of adopted children

.

I see our small life

Simple

In orange and blue

A studio apartment of complementary colors

Contrasting yet working in tandem

Harmony

.

A warm, orange kitchen of sunset meals

Tiled terracotta talks and simmering stove-top spats

Orange is versatile that way

.

A cool, blue bedroom of moonlit minds

Sharing teal feelings and cobalt thoughts

Indigo dreams

The way the curtains let the light in,

It crosses your face, illuminating your smile

.

I dream this dream often,

Most often when I am dreamless

Tossing and turning

Lost in thought

Caught

.

This dream has become my tether to life

For my dip in the Styx

Sometimes I get held under until I'm breathless

.

Dreaming is easier than facing the world awake

It's a world that enjoys things just so

Would it take to our orange and blue?

Would it separate us with other colors?

Our hands straining past forces of red and violet

To touch

.

But I needn't worry yet,

Of my small life in love with my complement

Whoever they are, whatever they will look like,

However they will be,

They will come.

And I can only hope that when they do,

The world will allow us

love poems
3

About the Creator

Jenna Sedi

What I lack in serotonin I more than make up for in self-deprecating humor.

Zoo designer who's eyeballs need a hobby unrelated to computer work... so she writes on her laptop.

Passionate about conservation and sustainability.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.