Poets logo

comfort coat.

to wrap around your soul

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Alexey Demidov from Pexels

the comfort you gave me

it stayed in my memory

the memory

of lost feelings

when you have taken up the cudgels

on behalf of me

against all odds

buryin’ the hatchet

and shuttin’ up some mouths

from vile talk

you are like

protective coat

workin’ on well

never wearin’ thin

a predilection for

divin’ within

so, I’m always in

swervin’ in between

serpentine bends

preeminent

in this move ment

without reins

please

lead the way

where I can lay my head

weakened by it all

runnin’ behind

my meek mind

compared to theirs

but that’s just a façade

rainin’ on my parade

whilst I look sideways

selectin’ somethin’

so that my heart feels joy

in a room with no air

no food, no drink, no light

where you are the only one

at the end

of this dark tunnel

wavin’ me hello

and tellin’ me

don’t be afraid

I am here now

so, nothin’ bad

can happen

*

I relax

leavin’ all evil behind these bars

*

September 2022

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

love poemsperformance poetrysad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.