Poets logo

Come to See Me When I Die

Please

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 years ago 1 min read
28

Please.

Come to see me when I die.

Before the flames and heat make it impossible,

come and see me.

While you have the chance to see my face and touch my hand.

Not for my sake, but for yours,

tell my now unhearing ears all the words inside you.

Rage or weep.

Whichever helps.

Tell me your dreams and hopes.

Tell me of the regrets and memories you will share when asked about the visit.

Just ask me no questions

for the time that I could help you will have passed.

Sit awhile with me.

I'll be quiet company,

and  in your mind place us somewhere bright together.

Feel my  gaze on your face as you tell me of your life.

Can you hear my laugh, still?

Or has it faded into the past?

Don't let the miles be too far.

Don't let your schedule make the choice for this visit.

Don't be too busy for this last journey.

Just come to see me when I die.

Let the visit be the help I've always wanted you to have.

The time we spend,

together at last,

heal all hurts.

Perhaps now you are free to hear the words I've always longed to say.

Don't stop yourself;

say whatever you need to say,

or feel free to sit in the silence we created together.

Just,

please.

Don't let me go still waiting.

It will be the last chance.

Please come to see me when I die.

sad poetry
28

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about 12 hours ago

    This was powerful Judey… as I began to read, my mind saw my father, and I just had a profound experience. Especially as you write, to say what you need to say… whether it’s something kind or to rage…. (I can’t directly quote from my phone… as soon as I click comment I have to work from my apparently not so detailed memory!!!). I haven’t had this kind of experience from a poem before… it felt very healing to imagine this moment / what I would say/ how I would react etc ❤️

  • So beautifully poignant, Judey. The essence of every funeral I ever conducted or attended. Let it be a healing balm between/among us, however it might take shape.

  • J. Delaney-Howe10 months ago

    Wow. This one hit me in the gut. Sad, but well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.