Poets logo

"Come outside," the Summer Wrens Cried

On why Julie's house is often quite messy on warm days.

By Julie Anderson SlatteryPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Zeus in the grass

"Come outside," the summer wrens cried, and I could not resist; I fled my chores, raced out of doors, and by the sun was kissed. Upon my hammock, swinging low, my body lay unstressed. I spread my limbs, sighed soft aloud, and made my choice to rest. The house be damned, it's mess inside, awaiting so much toil. For I would drink this sunshine up, smell hard the flowers in soil. My dog arrived, rolled upon his back, and felt the grasses tingle. He looked at me and I agreed: With nature we would mingle.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Julie Anderson Slattery

Mizzou J-School alum, former NYC mag editor, writes horror and YA sci/fi, hikes with dogs, bikes, drinks beer, laughs, and plays with broken glass.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.