Poets logo

“Colors Through Time”

Unique Shades of My Life!

By Charleen RicheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6

Born pretty in pink in my birthday suit

My parents both thought, “Awe, how very cute!”

I was adopted, they loved me so much.

Making me their own, through every kind touch.

Black hair turned whiter, while my eyes stayed blue,

They did not know that I would grow up so shrew.

With tough days to come, all my skies turned grey,

High school not easy, not wanting to stay.

Mom took me to sports, active was the way.

Homework late at night, sometimes into day.

Some bad things happened, my shades turned deep red.

Chose not to give up, kept moving ahead.

My shades changed color, purple my new hue,

At Tarleton State, Texan pride so true!

New goals had blossomed, I graduated,

Hunger for knowledge, thinking brain sated.

Moved to Bay City, it wasn’t enough,

Katrina and Rita were way too tough.

Shades changing again, more education,

A Phoenix to rise, a new location.

In Albuquerque, orange Found its way in,

A new way to live, tough desert-kissed skin.

I bought a new house, my pride could be seen,

To keep up payments, I had to turn green.

Sometimes my children, they thought I was rough,

Now I understand, why parents were tough.

Sometimes everything, seems to push uphill,

Now money-focused, keeping up on bills,

I was always trying to stay in the black,

But raising children, my checkbook felt hacked!

As both my boys grew, they made me so proud,

Bright shining yellow, my color so loud!

A rainbow of stardust, Set my feelings free,

Knowing all the shades, perfectly make me.



inspirational
6

About the Creator

Charleen Richey

Freelance/ghostwriter. Began writing in the single digits and was blessed with a mom who obtained a degree and career in English. My family is my motivation and inspiration to follow my passion! I look forward to sharing my work with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.