Poets logo

Color-struck

Creole from Louisiana

By Greer CollinsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Collage made by Greer

The nurse took a look then wrote white on the spot.

When I found out, O man I was hot.

White as far as I believe I am not.

Color-struck and full of lies,

left me confused which I despise.

My parents have black on their certificate to this day.

How could they have two white children anyway?

My parents spent their lives trying to pass for white.

Due to the eight percent black being out of sight.

Color-struck from the eyes,

unwilling to even compromise.

Maternal grandparents spoke in French around my mommy.

She never bothered to learn and pass it on to me.

Paternal grandfather spoke Spanish now and then.

Yet he didn't find it necessary to teach his children.

How am I supposed to have pride in who I am?

When everyone around me acts like it's a sin,

to be in this brown-colored skin.

Colored-struck from the eyes,

ignorance is what it signifies.

At school, I was always asked to fill in the space.

That lets them know what is my race.

Mother said to put, "American,"

no paternal uncle says, "Mexican."

Another Uncle joined an Aunt telling me I'm African.

Color-struck and full of lies,

left in confusion what a surprise.

I continued my life saying I was Creole.

I came to believe it in my soul.

Along came my children wondering the same question.

Taking action by DNA testing and teaching the family a lesson.

Mom your French, Spanish, Brazillian, and Cuban.

Color-struck from the eyes,

no longer confused just surprised.

Now I am attending a University.

Learning new languages for me personally.

Mom always said she could write a book about what I didn't know.

I did for my children so that they could grow.

No longer around color-struck and full of lies.

Neither are my children they are proud, black, and wise.

Greer's family photo

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Greer Collins

Newbie to writing, yet enjoying every minute of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.