Poets logo

Collection of Poems

2020-2021

By Leanne TarrabPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by me

~

For a while, I thought I was someone else.

Someone new, someone you brought to me.

That’s how subtly you changed me —

That’s how slyly you affected me.

I thought that person was the real me.

But it was just a reaction to the things you did,

A response to the words you said,

And a reflection of the way I felt.

But I had no control. You built it all.

And I’ve been trying to tear her down ever since.

~

Honey, don’t forget to renew the love.

Look down, never above.

If you wait too long it’s gonna expire.

We’re gonna do it even if you’re tired.

Give me your hand I’ll show you the way.

Just hold you’re breath. You’ll be okay.

You don’t want to? I’ll get my way.

I’m dragging you under. That’s my say.

You’re not a person. You’re a toy.

Your gentle resistance is my joy.

~

I went a little crazy the other day.

I found a big box with your name on it.

Hoping to find bad things inside,

I opened it.

And to my surprise,

It was nothing but good.

Not a negative word about you.

Only fresh 5-star reviews.

So I went a little crazy the other day.

~

sweater left undone

the yarn sinks down

no path of completion

unless you dive and drown.

~

too soon to see

too soon to tell

first round

boasting at the playground.

~

You’re okay you’re okay you’re okay

Farther from him farther from it

You are farther with each passing day.

~

Chapped lips

Pinched skin

What do you think about when you miss it?

Real concern

Then coerced

What do you think when it gets worse?

Why did you have to say you loved me?

I was trying to tell me something

I had a vision saw it coming

I was mourning from beginning to end.

Tight cuddle

Forced grip

What do you think about in its visit?

Warm hug

loud scream

How do you feel about your esteem?

Love is no longer love

My mind is made up

You took my child away

then you begged me to stay.

~

Everyday, you learned something new.

A memory that you hoped wasn’t true.

But it was.

It always was.

And then it ruined all that you knew.

~

Smell so sweet in the daytime

But it’s not so sweet until sunrise

All the things these flowers see

They reflect it back to me

They reflect the light of the sun

They absorb the dark of the fights

These flowers are brilliant during the day

But they aren’t so great at night.

~

Rush of dread

from my chest to my head.

Time to go cry a river.

Tonight’s solution

is tomorrow’s problem.

No choice but to deliver.

She’s getting near.

Escape the fear.

Skin under my nails.

His only joy is in the screen.

Her only joy is in the mean.

My only joy is in the scene.

Sharp burning bleeding.

~

I know you don’t like to hear me say it

because it reminds you that you’re gone,

But I like to hear you say it.

I miss you.

And I don’t miss him.

Because when you love someone,

you can tell that they’re crying

even if it’s dark.

He didn’t,

So he was lying.

And that killed me.

What is love if it can be forged?

The mockingbird believed in love.

I miss the mockingbird.

I miss you.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Leanne Tarrab

Hi! My name is Leanne. I'm from Los Angeles, California. I'm a singer, writer, and actress. I currently attend the University of California, Santa Barbara. I'm double-majoring in Sociology and Film & Media Studies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.