Poets logo

Cold snap

A poem

By Ellie MayzePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
11
A hellebore blooms in the biting cold of Edinburgh's Old Town on 18th February 2023

Would you catch me if I fall,

Or would you even notice at all?

Because I can't make up my mind,

If you're indifferent or arsey or kind.

What's the point in talking of trust,

When your last honest words are turned to rust?

You want me near, you want me far,

A blinking, shifting, unreliable star.

I could run for miles away from your coldness,

And then run back to admire your boldness.

Two-faced is an underestimation,

Of your talent to inspire fascination.

Let me fall and climb the hill once more,

Let me map the places I love and adore.

Then your words can fall on deaf ears,

And I can release our irresponsible fears.

If you fall I will always catch you,

Even as the chill turns my skin to blue,

You will sing to me when the blooms unfurl,

But this time I won't dance around in a whirl.

heartbreak
11

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

Ellie Mayze is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.