Poets logo

Cold Caller

Verse for an Alien Visitor

By D. J. ReddallPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
4

Carefully, I’ll show the puzzled alien the way

Through the museum of monstrosities that make us human

To that smiling stranger, who on any boring day

Looks into the eye of some botched beggar with acumen

To see a febrile poet, grave philosopher, sad genius

Imploring passers by for grudging cigarettes

Or the last piece of silver that we owe him for betraying us

As callous, sneering Pilates with clean hands and foul regrets

Looking at and into this dirty, ignored prophet, the stranger sees;

Seeing, he must be seen by the legate of distant lights

For recognition of the smallest, strangest, sickest you as I--this frees

The shining part of us, that had the cheek to leave trees' heights

As much as I might wish to show the grey guest other wonders:

Music cleaner than a pause, or sculpture’s frozen ripples

Feasts fit to make a corpse drool, books the ideal reader ponders

Rhetoric that softly thunders or dances that nothing cripples

Instead, I’d index what turns worrisome to worthy

Mere object to subject, thing to person, thee to me

social commentary
4

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Sublime. "Imploring passers by for grudging cigarettes Or the last piece of silver that we owe him for betraying us As callous, sneering Pilates with clean hands and foul regrets Looking at and into this dirty, ignored prophet" Damn. I ought to quote the entire poem, but this is the part that really got me. You knocked this challenge out of the park, my friend. I don't feel I need to read another entry.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.