Poets logo

Coffee Shop Retreat

Poem and Feelings

By Daisy FlorencePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Distaylor - Instagram

This poem was written casually a few months ago. I had been working in this place for three and a half years and thought It would be a really permanent thing for me. I loved the job and was friends with all my co-workers. Last year - in the last few months of my employment there my mental health got really bad and it was affecting my work and my colleagues that had to deal with me. It continued to be bad for the last few months of my employment there. To help me cope a little better - In the last few months I would stop by a Cafe Nero shop that had a quiet upstairs and I would read short stories from an Ursula K Le Guin book I had. It helped me focus on something other than work. It calmed me down before and after hard shifts. Although I didn't feel completely comfortable sitting in public in the middle of my town where a lot of people could recognise me- I still felt that momentary peace that I needed to help me get though this tough time. I looked up from my book - got out my phone and started writing. This is what I came up with -

Distaylor - Instagram

Coffee Shop Retreat

This is a private, peaceful moment for me It's something that doesn't happen No,not really It rarely does This is a feeling of independence Not safety Though, I wish I felt more safe I'm enjoying just existing Although, I'd love to fall back asleep With the love of my life snuggled next to me Then I feel safe Truly But for now, while I wait This is fine...

I'll soon be back in the place I feel as though I don't belong I'll power through It'll be ok in the end Positive, positive I have people that love me And places that comfort me And if all else fails- I know I can rely on this private peaceful Moment of tranquillity and silence My brain- Silent No thoughts Not really I'm happy and content in this exact moment I'm savouring it I'm almost safe I'm almost happy I'm on the edge of many things But it seems that the falls aren't scary at the Moment and the ups are still reachable In time Not now For now I'll just sit Calmly Breathing Existing Silent I'm happy for now In this very short, sweet moment For now...

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daisy Florence

Hi - I'm Daisy. I'm an amateur poet and I have a lot of feelings to express. Have a little read and let me know what you think of my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.