Poets logo

Coffee, My Coffee

Comfort in a sip

By Adrienne ElizabethPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Coffee, My Coffee
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Coffee, my coffee

Comfort is Coffee

Hot or Cold

Iced, but make it nice

Flavors and frills

It’s a sip of sweetness

Sometimes bitter

Beautiful and bold

Taking a likeness

To one’s tongue

Going down smooth

A liquid gold

Surely, what I’ve paid

It’s added up

I’ve kept Starbucks

Climbing, in biz

Pays for the wages

Of those fancy 
Barista’s

They deserve it

Making those designs

That look like clouds

Clouds in my coffee

Makes me wanna sing

Like Carly Simon

If anyone dares to

Compare themselves

To coffee, my coffee

I would quip back

You’re so vain

I bet you think

You are like coffee, coffee

Oh nobody can compare

To the soothing quality

Of what coffee can do

It’s a first world luxury

A drive-thru delight

Justifying the pennies

On just what will do

I can overdo it

It’s a vice for sure

I have to monitor

Sometimes I do

Sometimes I don’t

But it’s one thing in life

I just can’t do without

Pumpkin Spice latte

Oh that’s the best

The favorite of fall

And perhaps of them all

Coffee, my coffee

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.