Poets logo

Cloud Factories

A poem

By Chloë J.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Cloud Factories
Photo by Ant Rozetsky on Unsplash

My mother tells me when we would drive past factories, I would call them

cloud factories

as if I romanticized the steam,

the ugliness of manufacture, and saw instead a glimmer of

beauty,

I wonder when I stopped looking at the world that way.

with hope.

I wonder when I realized it was nothing but smoke

and noise

and nothing beautiful.

I wonder when I let the world teach me fear instead of expectation

I don’t see clouds anymore.

and yet

and yet

and yet

after all this time, a part of me, smothered by my cynicism, still manages to whisper

what if

what if

what if?

what if this time its dreams,

wishes,

clouds?

what if it doesn’t matter if it really is smoke,

as long as I choose to see clouds?

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Chloe, I love this. It's simple in what it considers, but I feel that there is deep complexity in the question it asks. Indeed, what if? I relate so much to looking at ugly things and determining some degree of beauty/redemption in them, just to prove to myself that I don't have to be so negative all the time. And I think this poem goes one step further in proposing that the mindset might be able to shift some of the damage, if enough people can will that change to happen inside themselves. Great job!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Very in the world of narrative, and very poetic at the same time. Factories and other industrial complexes can indeed have a great beauty (especially in sunrises and sunsets); but it can't help but make you think about the damage.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.