Poets logo

Closure

A freeform poem about finding closure or leaving it behind and whether those may be the same, after all.

By CorwynnaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Closure
Photo by Rui Silvestre on Unsplash

Sometimes I wonder what closure is.

Then I slip from the tree branch breaking my fall and hit the ground. I roll to my feet and stop wondering because the bruises may fade but I have to leave behind the part of me dangling in that tree forever, waiting for the earth to shock me straight again.

Closure isn't made for the people who have to keep going. I won't linger on a broken memory and smooth the sharp edges because I don't have time for another self-inflicted cut. Leave the past in pieces. The only time I have is now and it's always running out.

Another deadline, another promise, another obligation. All the chains that drag me toward tomorrow that I bind myself in to stay whole. No buzzing, straining part of me can fly off alone when I've weighted it with see you later, I'll do it soon, save the date. No part of me can go touch that tree branch dangling and plan a better fall.

I always take the jump myself. Or pick the chains that pull me off the edge. No one here is pushing me to take another fall. If I got myself into this, can't I get myself out?

Sometimes I wonder what closure is.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.