Poets logo

Clean

Autumn in Montana

By Sydney Lee JonesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

When you find my bones buried beneath

a shallow grave,

sun-bleached clean

know I always longed to rest there.

Leave me beneath a great willow in the midst of Autumn.

One that weeps at the falling of

soft golden leaves, a blanket to shelter me as the snow begins to crest upon my skull.

Identify me by my wide toothy grin, or the 2 limbs I fractured in ‘06.

The remodeling won’t lie about all the places I’ve been.

The soft kiss of the late summer sun

breaks down my sorrows alongside that white striped sweater my best friend gifted me when I turned 23,

flittering both away with the gentle breeze.

Nightfall, moonlight crisp,

I’ll dance alongside the wicked and the wildlife.

Return to my roots

with a final sigh of indifference.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Sydney Lee Jones

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.