Poets logo

Clarity

Poem: Of what you are to me

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Clarity
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

When I saw you,

for the first time, since I last saw you,

I didn't know what to expect,

I didn't know what was going to be next,

I didn't know if your words would hit different in person than text,

But I didn't want to not find out,

I didn't want to steer clear,

out of fear,

Fear that a connection may still be there,

And there was,

I think there will always be,

something between us that I will always see,

but that doesn't change anything for me,

seeing you, made me see it more clearly,

My connection with you will always be more,

more than the person I have now,

But no matter where I go with him, our relationship remains a closed door,

Maybe he is not meant to be my person,

but neither are you,

For me you were a beautiful lesson,

for a while there, you were my glue,

But I don't need to be held together anymore,

I know,

I have so much more left in store for me,

I am so happy I had the chance to see,

clarity of what you are to me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.