Poets logo

Clarity

stuck in the mechanical hand

By Veronica Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Clarity

carries me over

A cloudy morning

cast to be a dungeon’s daughter

I burrow in the breeze

of a forgotten moment

Still and bone cold

I numb the furry in my wake

I’ve no time for stupor

in this world of slumber

Past these petty games

of right and wrong

When time exists only

In a man-made clock

A gadget that limits

and lists our inabilities to

Move forward or reverse

A tender curse

I no longer

Live in --

Tick tok

Salvaged by the lock

Picking the key

With a lingering mock

caught in the corner of

half past 8

wishing I lived

before the date

never knowing why

if we rely on fate

tik tik tik

disguised by the tok

that loops

and lulls

dimming down

the flock

carry the hand

that holds your heart

not the hand

that mechanically

decides your part

disassemble the desires

to know when its noon

look to the east

synch up with the moon

learn the morn

and listen to the birds

know their song

and learn to swoon

summon your soul

your bodies true worth

remember your solace

from the stars you share birth.

excerptsnature poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Veronica

I am the moss silken on watered stones, rooted deep in rich soil. Earthen creature, I am the night sky -starry and strayed from the forgotten path of poets - I am, the chatter from the iron rails rattling as the train carries itself home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.