Poets logo

Christmas

A poem

By Anna cruzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Christmas
Photo by Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

Christmas

A poem

Christmas day full of merriment

Christmas commercialized to our detriment

Happiness and good cheer follow along

As carolers sing Christmas songs

Christmas is Jesus date of birth

As Santa Claus is described with mirth

Which one is it why such a paradox

Christians celebrate as orthodox

Christmas and it's decorated trees

As small and large as the seven seas

Christmas star so bright

Colors that swarm the night

Tinsel and garland surround the fir

Lights surreal as if a blur

Presents under the Christmas tree amass

As the people rush to get their presents fast

Eggnog cookies and fruitcake are all the faire

As smells of food fill the air

Wishing loved ones were near

Holding those close and so dear

Christmas day is different for all

But the meaning still remains tall

As people swarm the mall

Gifts received great and small

I'm not Clement Moore

Nor is this poem Twas the night before Christmas

I hope that what I wrote was not a complete bore

Just my thought on christmas lore

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna cruz

I like writing short stories and poetry. I like to blog about thrifting and many other subjects. I hope you enjoy my writing. Read my blog at www.savingshouse.blogspot.com and visit my website at www.vintageoldtreasures.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.