Poets logo

Chives

With the coming of spring, my chives have begun to sprout.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
16
Chives
Photo by Laura Ockel on Unsplash

My mouth begins to water with the thought of what spring brings.

My chives are sprouting!

Holding them tight in my fingers,

I listen to the shink of the scissors cutting through them.

Their soft smooth skin releasing their scent with growing potency.

That sweet and tangy scent with a hint of onion.

The memory of their taste dances on my tongue,

notes of sweet and yet an undescribable potency.

Something like a mix between onions and garlic,

but without the bitter notes.

Just the sight of their little green tips poking through the dirt sends me to another world.

I start to visualize all the beautful things I can make and add them to.

Using their beautful periwinkle flowers to make vinegarettes or flavoured oils.

The perfect addition to a summer salad.

Sprinkling the leaves on baked and mashed potatoes, with a dollop of butter.

That alone is my one true weakness in life!

These simple thoughts turn from mere thought to mouth water fantasies, that reach parts of my pleasure center I can't even mention.

I believe the term is... food-gasm?

I've already got the warm and tinglies, just thinking about this tiny sprout that isn't even a centimeter tall yet.

I can't explain why this excites me so much, all I know is that spring is here and so are my chives.

social commentarylove poemsrecipehealthyfeature
16

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! πŸ’šπŸ’™πŸ’œπŸ©΅

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Oooo, you brought all my senses to life with this poem! So beautifully written! I loved it so much!

  • L.C. SchΓ€ferabout a year ago

    Shink! Surely the greatest of onomatopoeics 😁

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That was very good. I'm suddenly a chives fan, well done Donna!

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    ok but why is it so satisfying to snip chives with scissors, SERIOUSLY? there is no true culinary technique of superior pleasure. before I read this poem, I might have thought there was, but you have convinced me there is not. mmm, chives.

  • Samia Afraabout a year ago

    So visceral, great poem!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    I really feel this, I love how raw you are with that sense of being just "turned on" by spring. Like a whole self awakening.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is a beautiful poem , thanks for sharing πŸ₯°

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Ok, I’m drooling haha! Baked potatoes with tons of chives and butter (and cheese and sour cream) are my absolute favorite food!! Yummm. 😁😁 This was so good!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was great. What a poem! Definitely engaged all the senses and I love chives!

  • ThatWriterWomanabout a year ago

    Okay so HOW did you make me salivate over chives? I don't even like chives! You're one hell of a writer! <3

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Great writing! This made me feel hungry!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Ah! the joy of seeing the first sprouts of planted goodness. I too see new sprouts and celebrate the gift of new life of plants, seeds and flowers. Good luck with them chives, I hope you enjoy them to the fullest.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.