Poets logo

Children of Pandora

By: RL Stevenson

By RL StevensonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Fate of the Mytheme

Children of Pandora

You approached soft-footed.

Skulking about, parading as a wet nurse,

You dandled me on your knees.

I nursed from your breasts.

~

The time has come to let you go -

To rid myself of the fallacy that is YOU.

~

Are you proud?

~

You have captivated the weak.

While your floundering goes unabated,

Flaunting and parlaying,

all the while, trafficking

your sons and daughters.

~

Atë has played the fool.

She was ingeniously demure,

Knowing she had been conning

all along.

~

Dolos, how shall I contend with you?

You have engorged humanity with

the milk of infamy.

~

The thoughts of the earth are destitute.

They have become like wandering beasts.

We have gobbled the bread of death.

We are malnourished;

enervated because of derision.

~

Your lies have encroached on

the boundaries of sanity.

From you, we have

increased the spirit of mendacity.

~

I am somewhere near my prime,

You are from time immemorial,

I cannot cut you off at the pass.

~

Perhaps, while I am still here,

Beating the wind, but stirring nothing,

Reaching for the air that I breathe,

I just may tip the scales.

~

In the meantime,

integrity weighs in the balance.

As I go, kicking against your verbosity,

I cry out to Ra; to Amen,

to show me the secrets of the day,

to reveal to me the matters of darkness.

~

You are just as constant as the Word itself.

Your radiance is a billowing petal

in the Halls of Amenty.

~

Nu, Ptah, Djehuty, Ma’at,

Be my pillars, my guides,

The wisdom that is from old.

Be patient, wait for me, resuscitate my soul.

~

Beware, children of Pandora,

Your time will come…

Your days are numbered.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

RL Stevenson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    This is very good! Nice work!

  • Test4 months ago

    Such a beautiful and lovely poem! So wonderful!

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Beautiful poem!!🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.