Poets logo

Child Proof Umbrella

Proved to all that I didn’t belong on this planet

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
29
Child Proof Umbrella
Photo by Saffu on Unsplash

I couldn’t get home from work quick enough

But once there I flew through the front door,

Immediate relief flowed through my veins

As I sprawled out on the lounge floor.

By James Forbes on Unsplash

Both my boys come hurrying into the room

Terrified somehow that I had been hurt,

Standing looking down over me

Waiting patiently on high alert.

***

I exclaimed, in a mortifying voice

“I shouldn’t be allowed outside this abode,

I just don’t fit in this world”

As gradually my heartbeat slowed.

***

My youngest turned and left the room

Heading for the kitchen,

Turned on the kettle to make me coffee

My one and only addiction.

By Heather Ford on Unsplash

With coffee cup in hand

I moved slowly onto the dining room seat,

Both boys still watching me cautiously

Noticing that I was looking frazzled and beat.

***

“What happened Mum, are you okay”

My oldest child gently asked,

“I know you don’t feel like you fit in here

But you are not really an outcast”.

***

That’s where my son is wrong

As I don’t fit in here at all,

I try to pretend all is well

And I stand and walk tall.

By Jonathan Daniels on Unsplash

I’m a professional in my career

In fact I’m very good at my job,

It’s the people side of things

As I don’t do very well in a mob.

***

Meanwhile as I gathering my wits about me

My children are waiting for me to explain,

I’m starting to feel a little silly now

But that’s only because I’m home again.

***

So here’s the story of what happened today

That caused me to feel that I don’t belong,

I had to attend an important meeting

Wth both of my bosses coming along.

By Leon on Unsplash

It was a 20 minute walk from our office

And Mother Nature decided to pour down rain,

My boss handed me an umbrella

There goes my hopes of catching the train.

***

We started walking along the pavement

The rain sprinkling down on top of us,

I attempted to open up my umbrella

As both bosses managed without a fuss.

***

I tugged, I pushed, I pulled and yanked

But that umbrella, well it had me beat,

My bosses saw me struggling

And looked at me like I was incomplete.

By Erik Witsoe on Unsplash

One boss handed me his umbrella with a sigh

And promptly opened the one that gave me trouble,

My face went bright red as I started to blush

And I wanted to dissolve into a puddle.

***

Now that’s not the end right there

Oh no there’s so much more,

We were suddenly undercover

The umbrella not needed indoors.

***

I tugged, I pushed, I pulled and yanked

This umbrella refused to close,

I walked slower and slower

Behind my bosses as I didn’t want them to know.

By Anh Nguyen on Unsplash

I was just thanking my lucky stars

When the umbrella did as it was told,

Yes I couldn’t believe it myself

But I’d finally gotten that damn thing to fold.

***

Wahoo.........but hang on, no please Universe no

We are again heading outdoors and into the rain,

I’m going to need to open this umbrella

So I tugged, I pushed, I pulled and yanked once again.

***

No joy, that devil of an umbrella

Refused to play the game,

I had to follow my bosses over the road

And down the footpath in the rain.

By Laura Chouette on Unsplash

So you guessed it,

By the time we arrive at our meeting,

I was saturated and trying to pretend

All was well while we were all greeting.

***

During that 3 hour long meeting

I silently begged until we adjourned,

That the higher power of this world

Would stop the rain when we returned.

***

That, obviously child proofed, umbrella

Was the cause of all my stress,

My feelings that I didn’t fit in

And that staying home is really for the best!

*****************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

performance poetry
29

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Staying home is definitely the best!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.