Poets logo

Child Of Death

Free Verse

By Sara CrippsPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Child Of Death
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

It is what I am, what I always was, what I always will be

Death is my father, I his child will forever serve him

Protecting life’s precious thread is what he wished, so it shall be

Murderers, thieves, inhuman monsters of every kind surround me

If only they could see how thin life's thread is

Could see how they are slowly wearing it down to nothing

They would sooner protect then destroy it

It is not our place to take away what is so precious

Father watches with his grim aura

Disappointed in what man has become

As I stand with him, apart from the world of man

My expression is that of pure sadness

Life was once so simple

Now it has become a monster of their creation

They will never be able to control it

They will never take over the role of Death

It is his place to judge when we breathe our first breath

And when our time has come to breathe our last

They still do not understand

That without Death you would have no life

One must flow into the other, who then flows in turn

Creating an endless stream of souls

There can be no life without Death

No existence

Nothing

We were all given life by Death

The purpose of this is to die

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Sara Cripps

I became a storyteller at a young age, telling stories to my younger cousins. I fell in love with the written word as soon as I could read, and never put down a good book. Stories are one on my passions. It is a passion I hape to chare.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sara CrippsWritten by Sara Cripps

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.