Poets logo

Chester

A Poem

By Amber CrockerPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Don't take mercy on my soul

this pain is all I will ever know.

after all the things I have done wrong

I know that you want me long gone.

in hindsight the signs were obvious,

I just stood there oblivious

as the distance grew wider.

everything has changed.

here I am on my knees

trying not to beg.

please, why'd it have to be this way?

you took my heart and just

tore it out of my chest

I did the best I could while

you took me for granted.

I'm so tired of you handing me

back my love on a silver platter.

why the fuck would it matter

if, in the end, we're fucking dead

to one another?

stop blaming me for what I never did.

I see how you are framing me

now I can see without

the rose colored glasses that

this was never meant to last.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amber Crocker

Instagram: midnightblackheart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.