Poets logo

Chequered

Self-love in Black & White and Colour

By Sally HPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Montage provided by Sally H

I love a rainbow sky

The core that is me

Rain-clouds make me fly

Silver pearls of wisdom fall

In Malaysia I was born

From my family and country I was torn

*

I love the colour brown

Tan is the shade you see

Look here and you’ve found

Hair black like the crow

Eyes, brown pools that never close

And a heart red as a rose

*

Beneath the shade is grey

Over the adopted child hung black clouds of guilt

Abused, she gasps for a gilded ray

She thinks she’s done wrong, she’s bad

Rainbows run away to Never-land

The big dark shows its hand

*

I love the colour pink

The bow-string shot its message

Never surrender, the cup of love to drink

Only she missed the mark when it came to self

One colour alone doesn’t make it to the pot of gold

And her Soul for the admission to self-love, she sold

*

I love the colour orange

Filled to the brim, its vitality kept me going

Self-esteem went into storage

The dark-red of deep unclaimed anger held me hostage

I love her, I love me not, yellow petals of happiness scatter

Everybody except me matters

*

I love the colour brown

Earth, grit, and crystal therapy brought back sparkle

Slowly, peaceful vibes and healing did surround

The crystalline core of rainbow me

She put her head above the water, blue

And finally heard the Angels trumpet “Do….”

*

Do love yourself for you are gold

Do not feel overwhelmed for Spirit is with you

Do what your heart is told

Turn your ocean of love inside

It’s time now, or never, to honour yourself

Put obligation, lies, and self-anger on the shelf

*

They said, here’s your book, the pages are white

It’s your story, nobody can take you away

From what happened, tell it straight, send memories to flight

Your rite of passage through the chequerboard

Show your true colours, be bright and bold

For what you learned and teach is gold

*

Survivor of abuse, let your petals unfold, yellow, orange, pink and blue

Your true colours helped you learn that when you love yourself, there's nothing you can't do

It's black and white the purple bruises hid the grey wisps of despair

Your tears glistened silver when you thought nobody cared

But you found your evergreen core, the rainbow fountain of youth

Possibility, appreciation, connection, creativity, pride, and more

Lost but found, turquoise oceans taking your imagination to new shores.

*

Dear "blues", I found me because I reached in and gave my big heart to me

My journal shows that shades of experiences can't tear us apart

I learned to throw away the shadowing cloak and set myself free

I made friends with the black and white

The fear, guilt, and shame of the young child who did no wrong

The rainbow pattern weaved from gold created her heart-song

And from the red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo,

and violet rays of the spectrum.......flowed...as time marches,

a river of crisp blank white pages to write her diamonds upon

chapters of lessons she learned on loving oneself,

the real pot of gold through the arches

The child, age seven. Photo provided by Sally H

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Sally H

I love reading, writing, researching, and supporting others. I run several WordPress blogs and have an academic background in the Biological Sciences and in Social Research. I also review non-fiction books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.