Poets logo

Check and mate

Sleeping Pills (True story)

By Sleeping Pills Published 7 days ago 2 min read

- I love you, you are my heaven and earth, my moon and the sun. You don't understand, i can't breathe without you. You do not understand, i have never felt what i feel now. I want to marry you, we will live together, i am already saving money for an apartment. We'll both go to tournaments, we'll both win them, Anna, we'll travel anywhere you want. I love you,- he said looking into my eyes. He held both of my hands tightly, I thought for sure that he would never let me go.

Ah, dear reader... So that you know with what kind of eyes he looked at me. He carried me in his arms, kissed my small fingers. Looking at him, I saw my future, which, like the northern star, gleamed brighter than my other dreams.

Ah, dear reader, I was young and naive. Please don't blame me, loneliness makes us behave irrationally, it makes us enjoy the smallest crumbs scattered in life.

His sweet promises had a sour aftertaste. These were empty dreams colored by the novelty of youth. Another woman was also happy hearing his promises. The other woman was also happy, was also in love.

- Checkmate,- he says sitting in front of me. I slowly raise my head, trying my best not to meet his eyes. I've lost... I feel my hands shaking like Aspen trees. I still can't believe the reality, I try my best to avoid it. It's a knife stuck in my heart that started spinning.

She stands next to him, stroking his hair, touching his shoulders. He wrote down the result of the game on a piece of paper and holding her hand tightly, never planning to let go, left the tournament hall.

Oh, dear reader, I am left alone. Sitting at the chessboard, I tried to force myself to stand up, but the moment, unfortunately, had already drowned me and I breathed out the last drop of air while lying deep at the bottom.

He won. He won the tournament, he won this game and he won in life. All i can do is just surrender, give up. And i did. I did give up, i drowned. Check and mate.

Sleeping Pills

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryheartbreakBalladart

About the Creator

Sleeping Pills

✨Wanna hear my side of the story?✨🤍

Instagram: a_million_dollar_man

Please follow and support my new work🤍

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilake7 days ago

    Nice attempt. You spread the feelings thoroughly!

  • T. Licht7 days ago

    Great work! I especially love the last paragraph

Sleeping Pills Written by Sleeping Pills

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.