Poets logo

cheap entertainment on new years’ eve

poem

By Huan Huan Published 4 months ago 2 min read
Like
Photo taken by Huan Huan Chen

he told me about how he got high for the first time on New Years Eve

which was why he stopped responding to my texts at 11 pm

and he didn’t reply until later when i said why i wish i was with him

to start 2024 right with a good luck kiss

Photo by Tan Danh: https://www.pexels.com/photo/man-and-woman-kissing-near-pendant-lamp-1321287/

it was the flirtiest thing i said in a while yet he was trying drugs with a friend.

and allegedly if it wasn’t a really close friend who convinced him, he would have never tried

i would have made him promise then and there to never do it again.

so long as i am with him.

like i said i’m not well informed about drug use and marijuana

and as far as i’ve heard it not as mood-altering as the others

but there’s still the feeling of betrayal

that in some way or another you became a betrayer when you tried to find happiness in something that wasn’t me

what did i say? “cheap entertainment.”

i won’t make you promise because i’m not your mom and you sure know how

i’d feel if you picked it up again

i could never talk to you again if i wanted to

i know i am capable of that

you know i am capable of that.

he told me he’s not well informed either

when i told him i didn’t grow up with anything except a bit of alcohol courtesy of my grandpa

he agreed with me

maybe that was overreacting,

after all

that’s what one does sitting on the bus by herself on a rainy day

right?

suffice to say the only thing to wish for in the back of the mind

is when we’ll be together

so we can get high off music and dancing and laughter

and each other.

—- 💌—-

Hey! Thanks so much for reading all the way through.

My name is Huan Huan and I’m fairly new to Vocal. I’m falling in love with the artistic community here. I hope you’ll leave a comment so I can visit your writing as well~

Check out my published poetry book here: linktr.ee/italicstheworld

and follow my author Instagram @hhc_author to keep updated :)

Stream of ConsciousnessProselove poemsFriendshipFree VerseBallad
Like

About the Creator

Huan Huan

self published poet, daydreamer, romanticizer of life - instagram @hhc_author - check out my book here! ~ https://linktr.ee/italicstheworld/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Sounds like new years alright

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.