Poets logo

Character Acting Reincarnated

The Workshop Collection

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Peter The Peteeatrick Panda, A Character Created By Lithuanian American Author/Poet Marc O'Brien

In another life I was royal scum

Walked around acting like a bum

Made plenty a mistake

Labeled ‘a fake’

Dealing the card

With a bard

Sealed and wheeled

Artfully writing greedy deals

But that was another life

Where I truly had many a wife

Learned from the past

And asked

God, “I want a good character in the next global cast”

Honest and kind

Respectable mind

Sent me back to earth

After tightening my decision girth

I returned as a baby screaming at birth

Went to school

Educated, humble, simple family rule

Talked with gratitude

Only spoke things that were true

Built the nucleus four

Hired labor daily routine sometimes seemed a bore

But when I welcome my children's children in

I wanted their opinion,

“Did I win?”

As I prepare for the next journey

No longer arguing like an attorney

They replied, “remember this

Depart the world with our loving kiss

And enjoy the applause minus the hiss”

My internal soul still inquired,

A question ever so dire

Not wanting to fall from any high wire

“Finding what I missed?”

When the pearly gates reviewed their list

Something there?

Judging both lifelong affairs?

Studying, reflecting upon the two

Wondering ‘what did I do?’

Wrong, or right?

Acting powerful or a pawny knight

Protecting my riches

Never having deep pocketed britches

Working for pension

Quietly not seeking attention

Then it hit me

And I could see

It is like a delightful book

Years it took

To tell

And after I leave it will smashingly sell

When everyone comes together

Grieving the gloomy weather

Reading saved hidden letters

Saying, “off you go”

Wanting to know

When is the next show?

And will you play a role?

Receiving glittering golden gifts achieving a goal?

Or a warm stocking full of coal?”

social commentary

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marc OBrienWritten by Marc OBrien

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.