Poets logo

Chaos, Silence, and Darkness

The world is screaming in pain, and it can overwhelm you very easily if you listen too hard.

By Emily KittyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Chaos, Silence, and Darkness
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Chaos.

The world is burning,

Freezing, falling apart.

Every turn leads to

unheard cries of anguish,

As the world ends

Again and again.

Few people can hear

The cries of others -

Too in pain themselves.

Try to avoid your own pain,

And you will be overwhelmed

With the pain of others.

It does not take long

Until you beg for silence.

Silence.

Everything is quiet,

Everything is calm.

Take me away

in your embrace.

Shield me,

When it gets too loud.

In a noiseless world,

There is no pain,

Only numb silence.

Calmness settles in,

Feeling like floating,

Safe, warm, dark.

Darkness.

My oldest friend,

My protector,

My eternal lover.

Wrap yourself

around me,

In a tight embrace.

Shade me,

from the burn

of the world.

Help me heal,

So I might

re-emerge anew.

Keep me safe...

Shielded...

Silent.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Emily Kitty

I'm a writer of fantasy, with a penchant for dark fantasy, and a love of exploring morally grey themes.

I also enjoy writing free-form expressionist poetry as a way to express any mental health struggles I may be experiencing at the time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.