Poets logo

Changes

By: BlackWordz

By Lajarius BlackPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I see no changes

This was the first line that Tupac says in his verses on the song changes

And if you really think about it, are there changes in the world

I mean, let’s think about it

We can say that racial discrimination has left, but it hasn’t

We can say that gender discrimination left, but it hasn’t

We can even say that people are getting the money they deserve, but they’re not

We say there’s so many changes, but are we sure about it

Let me take a couple of stances

As a black man from the South, what changes happened

I’m still getting racially profiled for wearing a hoodie

I’m getting discriminated against because the color of my skin

I have charges put against me even though I’m innocent of the crime

And I am stereotypical a worker in every sense

Either I’m a worker or I’m a entertainer

Nobody want to see a black man be anything except a dancing monkey

Black people are twice likely to get shot and killed than white people

So exactly how did the world change for us

Yes we’re “free” in the terms that we’re technically not slaves no more

Yes we have more opportunities now than we had before

Yes we’re able to live life like anyone else

But there’s always going to be a target on our back

Even when we’re facing face down on the ground with five shots in our back

So let’s look at it as a man in general

The changes has been amazing

I get to still be king and then I get more privileges than ever before, feel like I won the lottery

I can own anything because I am a man

Doesn’t matter if I’m worthy of it or I got it illegally, I can still own it

Doesn’t matter if I did people wrong or I’m running my business as a snake

I’m still king

We added technology, sports, music, banks, schools, and so much more

And it’s because of us, right

I mean, I get it. Women made us

Without them, we wouldn’t be here

They birth us, raised us, nurtured us, and made us the best that we could be

But we were the ones that was able to conquer the world

So I’m happy that these changes happened

I was able to conquer the world and more without even trying

Thanks to us

Now let’s look at it as me, as myself

I don’t know if I have a place in this world

Know what, let me change my wording

I don’t know if the world is ready for a person like me

And this is very egotistical

But I said this because there’s something inside me that want to change the world

There’s something inside of me that want to make the world completely different

So how do I see it

The world is completely messed up

We care more about social media than a real connection

We care more about the likes and fame then the humanity and love

Our pride gets in the way of so much that it’s ridiculous

Money is our king, but we don’t know how to give back to the people that helped us get it

We have more faith in ourselves than the Creator that made everything

We want to see fights and blood more than we want to see peace and harmony

Our egos run us, and when we get hurt, we fall back on our egos to say that we didn’t do anything wrong

We feel like we’re entitled to everything in this world when we’re not

So I see the world as very egotistical, prideful, entitled, and not giving

And the sad thing is, I see that in myself too

But the world is also passionate

We’re able to go all in on a cause that helps people

We’re able to push for change in every single way

We’re able to inspire generations before and after us to do something different

We have been to make a change in technology, history, education, medical, and so much more

We have lead revolutionaries, we have built legacies, we have destroyed pain

And we have done so much more

And the good thing is, I see that in myself too

So the world is a lot

It’s a mixture of love and hate, good and bad, pain and pleasure, dreams and realities, hope and despair, faith and doubt

The world is ever changing

And where do I fit in it

I see myself as one of the people that wants to change the world for the better

Because change and growth is uncomfortable, but it’s worth it

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.