Poets logo

Fight

By: BlackWordz

By Lajarius BlackPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s time for a fight

My opponent has been hounding me for a long time for this battle and now I’m ready

I’m ready to show that I can whoop this man’s ass

We both have been waiting to do this fight for a long time and it’s finally happening

First round, I’m come out swinging like I’m Tyson

Hitting my jabs to his face multiple times

I’m ducking and dodging but he still hit me a couple of times

The bell rings and I go sit in the corner

I got my game plan together like this is the most important game of my life and it’s going according to plan

Next round, I’m a rocket blasting off into my opponent

I duck and hit him with the uppercut that could break steel and he goes down with a Thud!

But he gets up so quick you might think the floor was made of electricity

But it’s all good because I got more punches for his ass

And the next couple of rounds, we’re fighting like two dogs going for the last piece of steak

He knocked me down a couple of times, and I knocked him down a couple of times

The fight is looking like it will go the distance

After the 11th round, I sit in the corner and start thinking I can win this battle

For the last round, I’m ready to put an end to this chapter and book

I throw the jab, land an uppercut, hit him with a body blow, and I go in for the kill shot

But he’s ready for it, and he hit me with a jab that had the precision of a sniper that know his opponent

The hit could be heard around the world, and I hit the canvas like I was shot by a shotgun

I’m stumbling around like a drunk man trying to get up, I’m not trying to lose this fight

I’m not going to lose this fight

I barely make it up before the count of 10

The ref looks at me and see that I’m good and he continue the fight

I mean, I got to beat this man

I got to beat him

And I go for the kill shot again

But he read me like a good book and hit me with an uppercut that would make Ali crumble down

Now I hit the canvas and there’s no way I’m getting up

As the ref throw the opponent’s hand up in victory, I lay down on the canvas disappointed in my defeat

As I get up from the canvas, my opponent looks me dead in my eye and says

You’re not ready to defeat your inner demons LJ, better luck next time

As he walks off, he looks back at me with this smirk that I want to knock off

But I know that I will beat him one day

I might not be able to win this battle now

But I will win the war

I just got to keep working on moves, and stay in the gym

I can’t quit now, I won’t quit now

I’m so close to the victory I can taste it

So when the next battle comes up, I’m going to be ready

And I will defeat my inner demons once and for all

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.