Poets logo

Changes

Some things will never change.

By Soul SistahPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I see no changes wake up in the morning and I ask myself how much of living my life is left? Another hashtag added to the growing numbers of police brutality, modern day lynching is no longer a thing of the past it's a new reality that keeps happening.

Anger, sadness and frustration as we relive old racism in an already corrupt nation. Shopping, walking and running added to the list of the things you can't do while Black.

How do I continue surviving when there's a target on my back. I cry for my mother, sisters and brothers who have to mourn the lost of a loved one murdered by the police.

I feel defeated as I worry if things like this will ever cease, we want peace but get treated like hunted prey. No matter what we do or say Black lives don't matter anyway. They mock us, and trivialize our deaths, we get the short end because we lack knowledge of self.

We must take a stand, how many more have to die from the hands of the slave patrol? Will we keep crying and marching or finally rise up and take control of our rights to live?

Will we be guilted and choose to forgive our enemies who show us every-day that no matter how many tears we shed no changes or sympathy will be sent our way.

As we live through this new old age racism that our grandmothers and grandfathers fought through everyday without ever letting defeat be their end. If we don't stand for something we'll lose the battle and the war will never end.

Rip George Floyd and the many others who were viciously murdered in modern day lynching also known as police brutality.

"Cops give a damn about a negro." Tupac Shakur

COMMENTS

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Soul Sistah

Content creator and writer.

Welcome to my world, come inside and let my poetic vibes soothe your soul, while my words echo in your mind and leave you wanting more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Soul Sistah is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.