Poets logo

Chance

Undressing Thought

By Heather ClimerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have come all this way

And I will stand this ground

I used to think

It was my duty

To offer my honey

To every withered soul

To pour my love

Into the depths

Of those

Who forgot

They were limitless

And I

Have grown

Wiser...

Larger

Than I thought

I was capable of...

And this honey

Is reserved

For the eyes

Lips

Heart

And hands

Of a soul

That understands

The hellfire I walked through

To be who I am

So if you hunger

And look at me

Thirsty for a drink

Without proper acknowledgement

Of the destruction that formed me

If you look at me

And see a trophy

Something only to conquer

For your own selfish gain

I will dissipate

A mirage in the desert

That will wither you

To the powdered marrow of your bones

But if you by chance

Happen to catch a glance

And resonate with rising from the ashes

If you can own your whole Self

Courageously

If you can hold your fire openly

And not be ashamed

Of the flames within your own soul

I have a seat waiting...

We will swim in this water

And lick honey from each other's mouths

Creating our own melody and rhyme

As we savor

This rhythmic unwind.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Heather Climer

A chaotic combination of music, molecules, color and curiosity. Fueled by no small amount of caffeine, I find inspiration in the world around me, and do my best to represent my reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.