Poets logo

Cecile

Sad poetry

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
4
Cecile
Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

A long-time neighbor sits by the window

In profile, her face looks so old now

She has misplaced her memory somewhere on a shelf

She looks at me with eyes that are mostly, empty, of her former self

A once vibrant woman, who could tango with flair, who loved to throw dinner parties and cook up a storm

Who was so ready to laugh at everything, everyone, including herself – so happy – so warm

I visit her at least once a week – she is usually about the same

Her eyes always brighten, but she does not know my name

It hurts to see how old age has taken her essence leaving her hollow and robbed

Then she will turn and say something like: “Remember dear, life is meant to be lived. It is not a mystery to be solved.”

Her whole self flashing through, and I trudge home relieved and happy that I came

Mental Healthsad poetryheartbreakFriendship
4

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧4 months ago

    This is beautifully written, Bonnie. When I was a child, my mother worked in a Nursing Home, and I befriended many of the residents. This reminds me so much of a few of them. Their memories had been robbed by time, but their kind spirits often shone through.

  • This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.