Poets logo

Cauliflower Steak?

This Vegetable's Ambition is an Absolute Absurdity

By Donna ReneePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
18
Cauliflower Steak?
Photo by Karolina Kołodziejczak on Unsplash

He seared it and seasoned it nice

You take a bite and you think twice

The hell did I eat?

That tasted like feet!

This should have been turned into rice

*** I love cauliflower but this is getting ridiculous***

performance poetry
18

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Ha hah hahahah. Looks yummy, tastes funny. So many great stories, so few big winners. Pshaw!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!!💖💖💕

  • Marsha Singhabout a year ago

    My husband has forbidden cauliflower pizza crust in this house. He considers it an abomination. I've never tried to pass it off to him as steak! :D Fun limerick!

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    Omg I need to feed my daughter cauliflower! Great poem too!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Haha! On point, I do love the pizza crust though 😊🤣😊🤣

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    I agree... cauliflower is not the hero it is being made out to be!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    No steak the pizza isn’t bad😂

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Call it the Vegan option and charge an arm and a leg for it

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Nailed it! Hey, cauliflower stay in your lane! I loved this one! 💖

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Yeah I’m all in when it comes to adding more veggies, but I feel like cauliflower just wouldn’t do a steak justice 😆

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Ha! Good one! Cauliflower is super gross!

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    LOL! I didn’t know this was a thing. I like cauliflower but I’m very carnivorous.

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Loves this. I agree that it tastes like feet. You hit the prompt perfectly.

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    So clever! 🤣

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Your poetic skills are impressive and your sense of humor is great, even if the cauliflower didn't turn out as expected.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Love it, Donna! Made me smile! :) You've got a great sense of humour and are so clever with word choice and developing a theme!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Gotta say, that grilled cauliflower looks sooo good! But the verse is clever!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That one really works well in using the Limerick rhythm to pump-up the humor. That photo looks like someone's baking up a cheese-cauliflower snack. It's making my mouth water and I just finished supper!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Lol. Good one, and I agree

  • Sannaabout a year ago

    Loved this, very witty!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.