Poets logo

Carnival Upon the Shore

Do you remember?

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
Carnival Upon the Shore
Photo by Oneisha Lee on Unsplash

Do you remember that day?

It was warm, balmy, at the end of May.

The carnival set up, you see, out there upon the shore.

I caught a glimpse from work, while just stepping through the door.

Photo by Steve Parker via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.

I thought to myself, 'Be inside all day?' 'Work or play?'

No, I just couldn't stay.

Instead, I hurried home to you.

'My baby girl and I, well, we have things to do!'

I scooped you up, "Come on, let's go. It is time to play!"

'Today is going to be such fun! Today will be our day!'

Photo by Andy Watkins on Unsplash.

Your curly little pigtails how they were bouncing in the breeze,

Walking past our garden, you waved to all the bees.

Then gazing up at the sun you elicit one tiny sneeze.

We wear our swirling sundresses,

Our hair sun-streaked, windblown tresses.

Photo by Jaden Robles on Unsplash.

Our pink polish-kissed toes are so warm and sandy.

Your laughter is as sweet as all the cotton candy.

It melts upon your tongue.

Moments later, you giddily declare, "all done!"

Photo by Thomas Tivoli via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.

Surrounded by such happiness,

Of all these moments I knew I'd one day miss.

In that bubble, we floated along with daydreamy wishes,

Soft, melting ice-creamy dishes.

The salty-sweet fragrance of caramel corn wafting upon the air.

The heady effect of it all sweeping away every last care.

Photo by Steven Miller via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.

As round and round the Ferris wheel spins

The day end's near as the crowd slowly thins.

Next, it's onto all of your carnival prize wishes

Followed by adorable little Eskimo kisses.

Photo by Groman123 via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.

How I cherished our day in the sun

Precious, momentous, so much fun.

Photo by Vincent Lock via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.

In my heart, you'll always be my Little One.

Photo by Dani Nantais on Unsplash.

~

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and greatly appreciated!

I'm also on Medium.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.