Poets logo

Magic of the Morning

The spiraling mists of the night give way to a sunbeam-laden morning. What intrigue lies ahead?

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
11

Photo by Paul VanDerWerf via Flickr. Used under Creative Common license.

. . .

Long before Dawn's early light,

The cricket songs had become dim

As the hoot of the owl faded into the night.

Photo by Olli Kilpi on Unsplash

With vibrant green buds upon every limb

Tall willows sway in the breeze.

Now I meander my way through.

My fingertips linger upon the coarse bark of the trees.

Photo by Marvin Jansen van der Sligte via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.

Dewdrops dampen my soil-covered toes.

The diurnal inhabitants of the meadow are stirring all around.

One crow from the rooster and, with the sun, I rose.

Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

Digging my toes into the moistened sandy soil upon the ground

I inhale the early morning fragrance of wildflowers.

Blue Jay swoops and swirls overhead.

A flash of blue disappears into the velvety-soft, petal-laden bowers.

Photo by Lisa Berry on Unsplash

My ears are accustomed to the nocturnal creatures' morning lullaby.

As they turn in for the day,

I observe them cozying up, so high.

There is still so much they want to say.

Photo by Erik Karits on Unsplash

'Good night and good morning to all the creatures abound!'

Relaxing against the solid trunk behind me, I whisper with a sigh.

Wary of disturbing their goings-on.

I step gently, reluctant to make any sound,

Wandering on farther until the brook I am past.

Photo by Matthias Halsberghe on Unsplash

Gazing behind me at the foraging deer, and the shadow I cast.

Yet before me, my destination, so I quicken my pace.

The looming tower of stone lies ahead,

Arriving, I attune myself to the power humming from within.

Photo by Weekend Wayfarers via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.

Amber-scented wisps of fog emerge as I rise upon the cold stone tread,

Fortifying my courage for the tasks that lie beyond.

Their whispers, trickling down like rivulets seeping between the stones.

With a steadying breath, I inhale the sweet aroma and withdraw my wand.

~

This was originally published on Medium.

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

nature poetry
11

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.