Poets logo

Captured in Amber

The colour of you.

By Jessie WaddellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
15
Photo by Natalia Soto on Unsplash

"A challenge, then?" She said,

One eyebrow cocked in question.

"Alright." I agreed. "Name your terms."

She smirked, "Did I not mention?".

-

"Your challenge is to paint me,

consider it a portrait of sorts,

But you can use just one colour,

And share with me your thoughts."

-

"One colour?" I thought. "Impossible."

But I knew that look in her eye,

The one that said, "I've got you now."

And so, I had to try.

-

"How about I paint you green,

To match your pretty eyes?

Although it seems that emerald glow,

Comes only in anger rise..."

-

"No, I think I'll paint you blue,

to match that sorry stare"

The look she gave me took me back,

"Behave," She said, "Or beware..."

-

What colour then, should I choose,

To wholly capture you,

I sifted through the rainbow,

To find the perfect hue.

-

You're not a pink, beige or brown,

And certainly not white.

You're not a red, purple or black,

Your aura is too light...

-

"I know!" I said, "I've finally got it."

Your look said disbelief,

"I'm going to paint you Amber..."

Your face showed your relief.

-

"You already know why, I see"

I teased, then grew sincere.

"Your intuition is your strength,

It's your 'unique' my dear."

-

That knowing look in your eyes,

I knew I'd struck a chord.

Your intuition was your power,

You held it like a sword.

-

Of course, there's more to you than that,

But you said I had to choose,

And Amber was the only colour,

That truly captured you.

art
15

About the Creator

Jessie Waddell

I have too many thoughts. I write to clear some headspace. | Instagram: @thelittlepoet_jw |

"To die, would be an awfully big adventure"—Peter Pan | Vale Tom Brad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.