Poets logo

Cannibal Culture

A Young Love Poem

By Elijah Marr Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo I took from the inside of a marsh barn

Unbeknownst you welcomed me into your cannibal collective

A bone chilling introduction to cannibal culture

A song and dance of happenstance, attraction’s perfect timing

Silly, I knew colours changed. Strange, I neglected to see yours hiding

Blindly I fell into your fire, seduced only by burning desire

You showed me a world in which I’d never seen, one that thrives on cruel brutality

Your friends were foes. Strangers, simply adversaries in waiting

Most avoid inflicting pain, but to you it was truly elating

I can’t say that you ever lied, or even if you once tried

The conspicuity was part of the thrill, only adding to the pleasure of the kill

My decision to leave came down to who I wanted to be

I realized that insecurity made my morals blurry

Deep down when I said ‘friends?’ I knew it meant never again

And though you spared me the brunt of your anger, it still cut to become strangers

In the end it would seem, I could bring but one thing with me

Only lessons survive in this cannibal culture

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Marr

I am a recent Fine Arts graduate looking to find my voice. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.